Events

Briefing | Xi’s third term: Foreign and domestic implications

briefing-xis-third-term-foreign-and-domestic-implications-main-original

The congress – which ended on 22 October – was the most consequential political meeting in China in decades. Xi Jinping has gained an unprecedented third term in office, establishing him as the most powerful Chinese leader since Mao. Clients have asked us about what Xi’s consolidation of power will mean for key issues such as Taiwan, Hong Kong and China’s ongoing zero-Covid policy. And also how he will deal with the plethora of challenges the country faces, including increasing dissent and a potential housing market crash.

In this briefing, our specialists give their forecasts for what the outcome of the congress means for key foreign policy. We will provide updated scenarios for Taiwan, as well as Sino-American tensions more broadly. And the panel will discuss the potential domestic implications of the congress amid signs of rising political and financial pressure on the regime. The briefing will include an opportunity for attendees to pose questions to our panel.

We look forward to you joining. Places are limited and preference will be given to Dragonfly clients.

Briefing
Date: Thursday 27 October
Time: 0930hrs BST | 1030hrs CET | 1630hrs SGT

share this event: