You are using a very old browser. To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or other web browser.

Briefing | Civil unrest in Peru: No end in sight?

Briefing | Civil unrest in Peru: No end in sight?

Dragonfly is hosting a briefing looking at the risk implications of violent civil unrest in Peru.

Over the past two months, Peru has entered a period of acute political and social instability, and the country appears to be at an impasse. Protesters – who are mainly social and indigenous groups that support former president Pedro Castillo, who was impeached and arrested in December 2022 – have been involved in violent clashes with the police in southern regions of the country. However, in the past week, anti-government protests have reshifted their attention to Lima to demand the resignation of President Dina Boluatre, as well as fresh elections and a new constitution.

In this briefing, Dragonfly’s subject matter specialists will:

  • Provide an assessment of the likelihood of sustained violent protests in Lima
  • Discuss the likely impact of ongoing civil unrest on foreign businesses and air travel, both in Lima and other key regions of Peru
  • Consider the most probable scenarios for further unrest through the rest of 2023
  • Provide our assessment of regime instability over the coming year

There will also be an opportunity for attendees to pose questions to our panel.  

Please note that places are limited and preference will be given to Dragonfly clients.

Briefing
Date: Thursday, 26 January
Time: 0800hrs PST | 1100hrs EST | 1600hrs GMT

Register my interest